The hardest race as a test bench for new technologies

GCK Motorsport works on the development and integration of efficient and ecological technologies. And what better terrain than the Dakar to experiment and test a hydrogen car?

The way forward for this ambitious program involves methodically learning the discipline via the commitment of a leading 4×4 running on biofuel (Prodrive Hunter; 2022-2024). This essential prerequisite will be followed by the implementation of a hydrogen-powered laboratory buggy (GCK e-Blast H2; 2024), then several participations with a vehicle capable of fighting for victory (2025-2027 ).

2023-2024 | Biofuel

Guerlain Chicherit and Alex Winocq are taking part in all rounds of the 2023 world rally-raid championship as well as the 2024 Dakar aboard a Prodrive Hunter.

The turbocharged V6-powered 4×4 is powered by sustainable biofuel made from agricultural waste that reduces greenhouse gas emissions by 80% compared to traditional gasoline.

Throughout this program, GCK Motorsport engineers and technicians remain in constant contact with those of Prodrive, in order to learn and collect data which will later be valuable within the framework of the GCK H2 program, whose ambition – eventually – is none other than winning the Dakar Rally with a hydrogen-powered vehicle.

Eblast GCK Motorsport

2024-2027 | Hydrogen

In January 2024, Philippe Croizon will be the first man to take part in the Dakar with a hydrogen-powered competition vehicle entered by GCK Motorsport.

The 30 kg of hydrogen will be compressed to 700 bars in four R134 certified tanks.
The gas will be transformed into electricity thanks to a 200 kW fuel cell developed in collaboration with FEV.

This energy will be temporarily stored in an innovative immersion battery, developed by GCK Battery, and run through by a Motul fluid.

The electric motor will be equipped with two speeds and will be able to develop 320 kW of power, the equivalent of 430 hp.

Guerlain Chicherit & Dakar

  • 2005 : Land Rover Bowler – 49th
  • 2006 : BMW X3 CC – 9th
  • 2007 : BMW X3 CC – retirement
  • 2009 : BMW X3 CC – 9th
  • 2010 : BMW X3 CC – 5th
  • 2011 : Mini All4 – retirement
  • 2013 : Buggy SMG – 8th
  • 2014 : Chevrolet EVR VX101 – retirement
  • 2015 : Buggy X-Raid – 45th
  • 2016 : Buggy X-Raid – retirement
  • 2022 : GCK Thunder – retirement