Rallycross

Retrofit enters the race

In 2022, a new era begins in rallycross with the electrification of the World Championship. This change, in line with the GCK Group's ecological values, persuaded Guerlain Chicherit to come back in World RX After a year's absence. As a basis for this project, he and his team choose a car... Not just any car!

A rally legend

With six consecutive titles from 1987 to 1992, the Lancia Delta remains the most successful car in the history of the World Rally Championship (WRC) and although the car went out of production 30 years ago, Giorgetto Giugiaro’s compact, angular design still commands admiration.

GCK, a pioneer in retrofitting

Guerlain Chicherit was born in 1978 and is one of a generation inspired by Didier Auriol’s exploits while growing up. It was only natural, therefore, that the French entrepreneur turned to this emblematic model when he launched his car retrofit business in 2020 (visit GCK Mobility). The Lancia Delta Evo-e "road version" will soon go into production (visit the dedicated website).

Promotion by competition

The time has come for the car to show what it’s capable of in the sporting arena… and only a world championship will do! Underneath its true-to-original bodywork, the Lancia Delta Evo-e RX houses a tubular structure compliant with the safety standards in the FIA 2022 regulations. The chassis was designed and put together at GCK Performance in Issoire, in central France. Specific tooling was required, and it took over 2,500 hours to build.

Stunning performance

With 500 kW (680 hp) under the bonnet, the car boasts twice the power of a Formula E car and, even more impressive, it accelerates from 0-100 kph in just 1.8 seconds… that’s seven-tenths faster than an F1 car by the same measure! The secret? Four-wheel drive and the combination of two Kreisel Electric motors delivering 250 kW each (the electric drivetrain kit used by all the cars competing in the championship).

The buzz for its debut

In mid-November 2022 at the Nürburgring in Germany, the Lancia Delta Evo-e RX made a particularly promising debut, both in terms of the times achieved on the track and the enthusiasm generated outside (see the report). The data collected on this occasion is used to make various modifications in preparation for the 2023 season, in which GCK Motorsport will participate in full.

GCK Motorsport in rallycross
  • 2018: Renault Megane RS 
    • 3ème of the World RX of Sweden (Jérôme Grosset)
  • 2019: Renault Megane RS
    • 2ème of the World RX Lohéac (Anton Marklund)
  • 2020 : Renault Megane RS
    • 3ème of the World RX of Catalunya (Andreas Bakkerud)
  • 2022: Lancia Delta Evo-e RX
    • 9ème of the World RX of Germany (Guerlain Chicherit)

Rallycross

Le rétrofit entre dans la course

En 2022, une nouvelle ère du rallycross s’ouvre avec l’électrification du Championnat du Monde. Ce changement de cap, en phase avec les valeurs écologiques du groupe GCK, persuadent Guerlain Chicherit de revenir en World RX après une année d’absence. Comme base pour ce projet, lui et son équipe choisissent une voiture… Pas n’importe laquelle !

Une légende des rallyes

Avec six titres consécutifs de 1987 à 1992, la Lancia Delta reste à ce jour la voiture la plus dominatrice de toute l’histoire du championnat du monde des rallyes (WRC). Au-delà de son palmarès exceptionnel, cette icone – qui n’est plus produite depuis 30 ans – fascine toujours les youngtimers par ses formes anguleuses et compactes signées Giugiaro.

GCK, pionnier du rétrofit

Né en 1978, Guerlain Chicherit appartient à cette génération qui, enfant, a rêvé devant les exploits de Didier Auriol au volant de sa Lancia Delta. C’est donc tout naturellement que l’entrepreneur s’est tourné vers ce modèle emblématique quand il a décidé en 2020 de lancer son activité de rétrofit de véhicules (voir le site de GCK Mobility). La Lancia Delta Evo-e « version route », qui bénéficie par ailleurs d’un restomod, entrera en production courant 2023 (voir le site dédié).

Promotion par la compétition

Ne restait plus qu’à assurer la promotion du véhicule par un engagement en championnat du monde de rallycross ! Sous sa carrosserie conforme à l’originale, la Lancia Delta Evo-e RX dissimule une structure tubulaire répondant aux normes de sécurité dictées par le règlement 2022 de la FIA. Intégralement conçu et fabriqué dans locaux de GCK Performance à Issoire (Puy-de-Dôme), le châssis a nécessité 2 500 heures de travail et la fabrication d’outillages spécifiques.

Des performance ahurissantes

Avec 500 kW (680 cv) sous le capot, la voitures dispose de deux fois plus de puissance qu’une Formule E et, surtout, elle abat le 0 à 100 km/h en 1,8 seconde… soit 7 dixièmes de moins qu’une F1 sur la même mesure ! Le secret ? Quatre roues motrices et l’association de deux moteurs Kreisel Electric de 250 kW chacun (kit propulseur commun à toutes les voitures du championnat).

Le buzz pour ses débuts

Mi-novembre 2022 au Nürburgring en Allemagne, la Lancia Delta Evo-e RX réalise des débuts particulièrement prometteurs, tant par les chronos réalisés en piste, que par l’enthousiasme suscité en dehors (voir le compte rendu). Les données récoltées à cette occasion sont mises à profit pour apporter diverses modifications en vue de la saison 2023 à laquelle GCK Motorsport participera en intégralité.

GCK Motorsport en rallycross
  • 2018 : Renault Megane RS 
    • 3ème du World RX of Sweden (Jérôme Grosset)
  • 2019 : Renault Megane RS
    • 2ème du World RX Lohéac (Anton Marklund)
  • 2020 : Renault Megane RS
    • 3ème du World RX of Catalunya (Andreas Bakkerud)
  • 2022 : Lancia Delta Evo-e RX
    • 9ème du World RX of Germany (Guerlain Chicherit)